We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are computed from specs and prices, never from commissions. How we make money
Accessories › Aventon Abound LR
Aventon Abound LR accessories
The spare battery Aventon lists for the Abound LR, hitch racks compared with its published weight and tire width, and locks and helmets with a stated rating. Every statement below is quoted from the maker, with its source and the date we last found it there.
Spare battery
| Battery | Price | Why it's listed for this bike | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aventon Extra battery (Abound LR / Level 4 REC / Pace 5 REC / Aventure 3 option) Aventon's listing says the battery does not come with a charger. | $499 checked 2026-10-11 | Aventon's listing names it: “Abound LR / Abound SR / Level 3 / Level 4 REC / Pace 4 / Pace 5 REC / Aventure 3 / Aventure M” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) |
Pick the option that names your bike and model year at checkout; makers change battery designs between versions.
Hitch racks
The Abound LR weighs 88 lb with its battery and runs 20x3.0 tires (3" wide), per Aventon's specs. 1 of the 4 racks we list is rated for that, going by the rack makers' stated limits.
| Rack | Bikes | Max per bike | Max tire width | Max wheelbase | Abound LR | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kuat Piston SR hitch rack One-bike all-metal rack with the highest weight limit here. Hitch: 2". | 1 | 100 lb | not stated | not stated | Within the stated weight limit (88 lb of 100 lb); the rack's listing states no tire limit | $796 checked 2026-10-11 | |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider Scrambler hitch rack Two-bike platform rack for heavier and longer e-bikes. Hitch: 2". | 2 | 80 lb | 5" | 60" | Not suitable: over the weight limit (88 lb vs 80 lb) | $549.99 checked 2026-10-11 | |
| Hollywood Racks Destination E hitch rack Two-bike platform rack with a loading ramp included. Hitch: 2". | 2 | 70 lb | 4.5" | 50" | Not suitable: over the weight limit (88 lb vs 70 lb) | $749.99 checked 2026-10-11 | |
| Saris Cycle-On 2-bike hitch rack Two-bike platform rack with a telescoping ramp included. Hitch: 1.25" or 2". | 2 | 70 lb | 4" | 50" | Not suitable: over the weight limit (88 lb vs 70 lb) | $899.99 checked 2026-10-11 |
We compare published weight and tire width only; this is arithmetic on the makers' figures, not a fit test. Racks also limit wheelbase (shown above), and bike makers rarely publish it, so measure yours axle to axle. Check your vehicle's hitch size and tongue weight rating too. Removing the battery before loading makes the bike lighter. Each rack's limits, quoted from its maker with sources, are on the accessories page.
Locks
Sold Secure is a UK body that tests locks and grades them Bronze, Silver, Gold or Diamond. The rating below is each maker's own statement; we have not tested any lock.
| Lock | Price | What the maker states | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hiplok D1000 anti-angle-grinder D lock Hiplok's grinder-resistant D lock. | $249.99 checked 2026-10-11 | Security rating: “Sold Secure Powered Cycle Diamond and ART 4 Star ratings” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| Hiplok DX D lock Compact D lock that clips to a belt or bag strap. | $79.99 checked 2026-10-11 | Security rating: “Sold Secure Pedal Cycle Diamond & Sold Secure Powered Cycle Gold rated” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| Hiplok URBAN D lock Lower-priced D lock with a frame bracket. | $49.99 checked 2026-10-11 | Security rating: “Sold Secure Pedal Cycle Gold rated” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| LITELOK X1 D lock Grinder-resistant D lock, 3.7 lb per LITELOK. | $169.99 checked 2026-10-11 | Security rating: “Sold Secure Motorcycle and Bicycle Diamond” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| LITELOK X3 D lock LITELOK's most grinder-resistant D lock, 4.6 lb per LITELOK. | $279.99 checked 2026-10-11 | Security rating: “Sold Secure Motorcycle and Bicycle Diamond” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) |
Helmets
NTA 8776 is the Dutch helmet standard written for speed e-bikes, which are assisted up to 28 mph (45 km/h). The certification below is each maker's own statement; we have not tested any helmet.
| Helmet | Price | What the maker states | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lumos Ultra E-Bike helmet Built-in front and rear lights, turn signals and a retractable eye shield. | $199.95 checked 2026-10-11 | Certification: “NTA-8776 certification” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| Bern Hudson MIPS helmet Commuter helmet with MIPS and a clip-on rechargeable rear light. | $159 checked 2026-10-11 | Certification: “With an NTA 8776 E-bike certification the Hudson is purpose built for e-bike trips at speeds up to 27 mph” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) | |
| Bern Fremont DVRT helmet Light (320 g per Bern) helmet with a flip visor. | $139 checked 2026-10-11 | Certification: “exceptionally lightweight for an NTA 8776–certified helmet” (source, confirmed 2026-10-11) |